Rye Love

I had some extra rye bread left over from a trip to the store. I love that fresh bread is cheaper than the stuff in the bag! This recipe by Barbara Rolek, Eastern European Food Expert is so easy! So I made a salad to go along with the yummy rosemary chicken and thought it needed something special, croutons. Of course I added a few extra things. 

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 (1-inch) slices rye bread, cut into cubes
  • 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoons of almond oil 
  • 1 smashed (but not chopped) clove garlic
  • Sea salt 

PREPARATION

Heat oven to 350 degrees. In a large skillet, heat oil with garlic over medium heat. Add bread cubes and saute, turning frequently, until bread is well-browned on all sides, about 3 minutes.
Discard garlic and transfer bread cubes to a baking sheet and toast until cubes are dried through, about 5 minutes. The recipe says to store in an airtight container. For me there was none left to store. 😀 When they came out of the oven I was trying to keep fingers out of them! Enjoy! 

Leave a comment